So I have been in Japan for the last year teaching English to Japanese kids. Now that I am back in Australia I am going to be focusing on making a bunch of work for my portfolio that I can use to get a job.

So for the last two days I have been working on making a tutorial script that I can use for any of the games that I make in the future (as well as games that I’m currently making). What the script will do is the designer will tell it how many events there are to be in the tutorial. Then select what type of events they will be. And then use the controls on the script to adjust the events for final use. You can see the user interface for the script below.

TutorialScriptScreenShot

The reason I am working on this script is that I have been working on a game that teaches the player to read Hiragana (the first of the three lettering systems in Japanese). And the rules are a little confusing at first. This means I need a good tutorial. And the only way to get a good tutorial is to iterate on it a lot. But previously I have been making the tutorial with scripts that only fitted that tutorial. Thus I would have to re-code the tutorial every time I wanted to change something.

This script will allow me to change my old tutorials quickly as well as make new tutorials.

Also, a quick afterword. I will make regular updates to this blog to document my progress. As a result there will be more work in progress type posts rather than finished product type posts in the future.

Theo

